Skip to content

Our concept

Sustainable investment products are not a form of sponsoring! They are usually just as financially successful, if not more so, than their conventional counterparts. Not just you as an investor, but also society and the environment as a whole benefit from the sustainable qualities of your investment.
Our sustainable investment solutions are initially based on the same financial analysis and considerations as our classic investment products. Our sustainability assessment does not therefore replace tried and tested financial analysis procedures, but complements them and creates added value in the process.
Our investment decisions are based on four levels of analysis.
(1) Industry analysis All industries are classified on the basis of their environmental opportunities and risks.
(2) Company analysis Based on the findings of the industry analysis, the concrete behaviour of companies is scrutinised.
(3) Exclusion criteria Companies that  are involved in substantially problematic and therefore risky activities or business segments such as tobacco products, armaments, and nuclear energy
(4) Financial analysis Companies are assessed on the basis of financial criteria.

Sustainability analysis of companies

Our sustainability philosophy is based on risk analysis. What do we mean by that in practical terms? For Bank J. Safra Sarasin sustainable business practices are defined as those involving the provision of goods and services in a socially responsible way, using production methods that present minimal potential for conflict and that are careful with resources.
The risk considerations at the core of a company’s sustainability performance comprise three dimensions: the economy, the environment and society.
We assume that companies which pay attention to all three sustainability dimensions are more adept at tackling specific risks that arise in connection with their exposure to social, political or environmental factors. They therefore tend to be more forward-looking in their actions. A food manufacturer, for example, minimises the risk to his reputation by not uncritically favouring the cheapest suppliers, which could potentially make him vulnerable to a food scandal.
Environmental analysis...
... uses comprehensive sector-specific criteria to assess how environmentally friendly companies design their products and manufacturing processes. Here the entire life cycle of products is taken into account: from pre-production sourcing, through to production, use and disposal.
Social analysis...
… looks at how the management of a company shapes its relations with stakeholders who are vital for its long-term financial success: employees, investors, suppliers, investors, the general public and the government.
Avoiding outsized risks
Many industries or business segments which currently seem to be financially attractive are so heavily exposed to risks that they are excluded from Bank J. Safra Sarasin’s sustainability portfolios. For example, companies are ruled out if they earn more than five percent of their sales from the manufacture of the following products: nuclear power, weapons, chlorine and agrochemicals, tobacco, pornography and GMOs used in agriculture

Sustainability analysis methodology

Multi-facetted research provides a solid decision base
The Sarasin Sustainability-Matrix clearly shows the approach we use for sustainability analysis.
Sustainability Matrix
Industry sustainability on the X axis:
We look at the specific risks that the industry in question poses to people and the environment. Some of the questions we ask for every industry include, for example:
  • How high is resource consumption of the industry as a whole?
  • How high are emissions?
  • What are the potential conflicts of interest for that particular industry both inside the company (e.g. workers’ rights) and outside the company (e.g. product safety)?
This not only enables us to identify specific risks and opportunities for companies operating in a particular industry, but to compare different industries in relation to their risks.
Company sustainability on the Y axis:
Next we look at how companies actually manage the environmental and social risks for their specific industry compared with their peer group. Here too we analyse a multitude of facts and answer a series of questions to establish the rankings for all the companies we rate within an industry, such as:
  • How high is the company’s energy and material intensity?
  • Is the company committed to using renewable resources?
  • How does a company conduct its relations with suppliers, the general public and its workforce?
The result ranks the analysed companies within the industry they operate in.

Sustainability analysis of bonds

Those who would like to invest their money in assets less risky than equity will not be able to avoid bonds. Here as well we encounter a multitude of issuers; aside from companies there are territorial authorities (such as countries) and public institutions (e.g. World Bank, Council of Europe).
Countries are assessed across two dimensions. On the one hand we analyse the availability of resources, such as land and water, and on the other how efficiently a country transforms its available resources into goods and services, and ultimately into quality of life for its citizens.
Public institutions are analysed similarly to companies. To better capture these type of issuers we also look at how their mandates contribute to the environment and society.


Bank J. Safra Sarasin is a member of the European Sustainable and Responsible Investment Forum (EUROSIF), the industry body for SRI. In September 2003 EUROSIF published a transparency guideline. This is intended to allow potentially interested private investors to obtain as clear and as comprehensive a picture as possible of the quality of sustainable investment funds. The Bank has agreed to be bound by this guideline.
Transparent Logo
It has always been very important for Bank J. Safra Sarasin to provide investors and other interested parties with accurate and open information about its investment products, mirroring the high degree of transparency which our own analysts in the Sustainable Investment Research team demand of companies and institutions in their daily work.
For this reason, Bank J. Safra Sarasin has been one of the first providers of sustainability funds in Europe to commit to publishing information on its sustainable funds in accordance with the definitive version of EUROSIF’s transparency guidelines. A copy of these guidelines can be found on the Internet on the homepage of the Forum Nachhaltige Geldanlagen.

Direkt zum Inhalt

Unser Konzept

Nachhaltige Investments sind kein Sponsoring! Nachhaltige Produkte sind meist genauso erfolgreich, wenn nicht sogar besser, als ihre konventionellen Pendants. Von einer nachhaltigen Ausrichtung Ihres Investments profitieren sowohl Sie als Anleger als auch die Gesellschaft und die Umwelt.
Unsere nachhaltigen Anlagelösungen basieren zunächst auf denselben finanzwirtschaftlichen Analysen und Überlegungen wie unsere klassischen Produkte. Die Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung ersetzt also nicht unsere bewährte, finanzwirtschaftliche Beurteilung, sondern ergänzt sie und schafft damit einen Mehrwert.
Unsere Anlageentscheidungen basieren auf vier Analyseebenen.
(1) Branchenanalyse Alle Branchen werden hinsichtlich ökologischer Chancen und Risiken klassifiziert.
(2) Unternehmensanalyse Aufbauend auf den Erkenntnissen der Branchenanalyse wird das konkrete Verhalten der Unternehmen analysiert.
(3) Ausschlusskriterien Es werden Unternehmen ausgeschlossen, welche substanzielle problematische – und damit riskante –
Geschäftsfelder oder Tätigkeiten aufweisen wie beispielsweise Tabakprodukte, Rüstungsgüter oder Kernenergie.
(4) Finanzanalyse Die Unternehmen werden im Hinblick auf finanzwirtschaftliche Kriterien bewertet.

Nachhaltigkeitsanalyse von Unternehmen

Unsere Nachhaltigkeitsanalyse beruht auf Risikoüberlegungen. Was heisst das? Nachhaltig wirtschaften bedeutet für die Bank J. Safra Sarasin, Güter und Dienstleistungen mit breiter gesellschaftlicher Akzeptanz herzustellen. Die Produktionsmethoden sollten gleichzeitig möglichst konfliktarm und Ressourcen schonend sein.
Risikoüberlegungen liegen der Nachhaltigkeitsanalyse in drei Dimensionen zugrunde: Umwelt, Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft.
Nachhaltigkeitsanalyse
Wir gehen davon aus, dass Unternehmen grundsätzlich sensibler bezüglich bestimmter Risiken agieren, die alle drei Dimensionen berücksichtigen und dementsprechend vorausschauend handeln. Ein Lebensmittelhersteller etwa minimiert sein Reputationsrisiko, in dem er nicht unkritisch den billigsten Lieferanten favorisiert und damit möglicherweise einen Lebensmittelskandal in Kauf nimmt.
Die Umweltanalyse…
…bewertet anhand von umfassenden branchenspezifischen Kriterien, wie umweltverträglich Unternehmen ihre Produkte und Herstellungsprozesse gestalten. Dabei wird der gesamte Lebenszyklus der Erzeugnisse berücksichtigt: von den Vorprodukten über die Produktion bis hin zu Gebrauch und Entsorgung.
Die Sozialanalyse…
…untersucht, wie das Management eines Unternehmens die Beziehungen zu seinen Anspruchsgruppen gestaltet, die für den langfristigen finanziellen Erfolg entscheidend sind: Mitarbeitende, Kunden, Lieferanten, Kapitalgeber sowie die Öffentlichkeit und der Staat.
Ausschlusskriterien
Manche im Augenblick finanziell attraktiv erscheinende Branchen oder Geschäftsfelder sind derart risikobehaftet, dass sie von vornherein nicht in die Nachhaltigkeitsportfolios der Bank J. Safra Sarasin aufgenommen werden. So schliessen wir derzeit Unternehmen aus, die mehr als fünf Prozent des Umsatzes mit der Herstellung von folgenden Produkten erzielen: Kernenergie, Rüstungsgüter, Chlor- und Agrochemikalien, Tabak, Pornografie, in der Landwirtschaft eingesetzte Gentechnik.

Systematik der Bewertung

Sustainability Matrix
x-Achse: Branchenrating
Die erste Ebene beantwortet die Frage, welche Risiken die entsprechende Branche für Mensch und Umwelt birgt.
Die Bewertungskriterien hierfür sind Ressourcenverbrauch, Emissionen, Zentralisierungsgrad, interne sowie externe Konfliktpotenziale. Zum einen identifizieren wir so die spezifischen Risiken und Chancen für das einzelne Unternehmen innerhalb der jeweiligen Branche. Zum anderen können wir die verschiedenen Branchen im Hinblick auf das Ausmass ihrer Risiken zueinander in Relation setzen.
y-Achse: Unternehmensrating
Die zweite Ebene beantwortet die Frage, wie das Unternehmen im Vergleich zu seinen Konkurrenten mit seinen branchenspezifischen ökologischen und sozialen Chancen und Risiken konkret umgeht. Kriterien hierfür sind beispielsweise Energie- und Materialintensität, Einsatz erneuerbarer Ressourcen sowie die Beziehung eines Unternehmens zu Lieferanten, Öffentlichkeit und Mitarbeitern. Das Resultat dieser Analyse ist eine Rangordnung aller untersuchten Unternehmen innerhalb einer Branche.

Nachhaltigkeitsanalyse bei Anleihen

Wer sein Geld – verglichen mit Aktien – risikoärmer anlegen will, kommt an Anleihen nicht vorbei. Doch besteht hier eine sehr grosse Vielfalt an Emittenten: Neben Unternehmen sind dies auch Gebietskörperschaften (z. B. Staaten) und öffentliche Institutionen (z. B. Weltbank und Europarat).
Wir bewerten Länder in zwei Dimensionen. Einerseits beeinflusst die Verfügbarkeit von Ressourcen die künftigen
Produktionsmöglichkeiten massgeblich.  Andererseits wird bewertet, wie effizient natürliche und soziale Ressourcen in Wohlstand und Lebensqualität umgewandelt werden.
Öffentliche Institutionen durchlaufen ein ähnliches Analyseverfahren wie Unternehmen. Um der Besonderheit dieser Emittenten besser Rechnung zu tragen, wird zusätzlich zu den Leistungen für Umwelt und Gesellschaft der Organisationszweck bewertet.

Transparenz

Die Bank J. Safra Sarasin ist Mitglied beim European Sustainable and Responsible Investment Forum (EUROSIF), der europäischen Vereinigung aller Interessenten auf dem Gebiet nachhaltiger Geldanlage. Im September 2003 hat EUROSIF eine Transparenzleitlinie publiziert. Diese soll es interessierten Privatanlegern ermöglichen, sich ein möglichst klares und umfassendes Bild über die Qualität von nachhaltigen Investmentfonds zu machen. Die Bank hält sich verbindlich an diese Leitlinie.
Transparent Logo
Bank J. Safra Sarasin war es schon immer ein wichtiges und ernsthaftes Anliegen, Investorinnen, Investoren und Interessierte präzise und offen über Investmentprodukte zu informieren. Dies spiegelbildlich zu der Transparenz, welche unsere Analysten des Sustainable Investment Research in ihrer täglichen Arbeit von Unternehmen und Institutionen fordern.
                  
Aus diesem Grund hat sich die Bank J. Safra Sarasin als eine der ersten Anbieterinnen von Nachhaltigkeitsfonds in Europa bereit erklärt, Informationen über ihre Nachhaltigkeitsfonds entsprechend der Endfassung der Transparenzleitlinie zu publizieren. Diese Vorlage finden Sie im Internet auf der Homepage des Forums Nachhaltige Geldanlagen.